A Balanced Weekend

Happy Monday all!

Seems like every time you turn around, the weekend’s over and it’s already Monday- doesn’t it? I can’t complain, I had a really good & very balanced weekend. I’m a Libra & totally buy into all of the attributes of my sign – when life is balanced, I’m much happier all around. My sign is the scales, after all!

It helps that my weekend was a 3-day weekend. Inspired by A Beautiful Mess Blog, I decided that I should go thrifting more often. I’m up to my eyeballs in DIY & Pinterest projects and keep picking up new things to start the next one.. meaning I have lots of halfway finished things around the house right now. But, if you’re trying to decorate and enrich a space – thrifting can give you ideas and you can find some treasures on the cheap!

One of my favorite shops in Riverside in Jacksonville, Florida.

After perusing some of the local vintage-inspired shops, we wandered into a few antique shops.

One of our favorites in town is called Avonlea. It’s got several sections and has sections that are owned by different people, so it’s a very eclectic mix.

I love the bottles. Different colors, different shapes and sizes.. I just love displays like this.

So stinkin cute & handmade!

 

Because there are different sections facilitated by different owners who pay for the space (kind of like a flea market), all of the items aren’t your typical old/vintage type things. This particular section was handmade, sewn and completely adorable!

I did purchase a few items.. a few pieces for our home, a Christmas present.. it was so productive! More about that later though.

After about 5 hours of shopping around, we were pretty tired and headed home to cat nap. After the cat nap I got up and got dressed to go back out because one of my FAVORITE bands was playing our local university. I’m a mix of things most of the time, and this band certainly falls into that. While I’m mostly jamming to country/classic rock/alternative types of sounds.. 3Oh!3 is probably best known for their song Don’t Trust Me. It’s a little profane, but overall pretty fantastic. Here’s a peek at another of my favorites by them:

Double Vision

Concert poster

Saturday was the laziest day I’ve had in a while. I woke up, sat on the couch with the boyfriend and proceeded to go get back in bed with my pups until the Florida Georgia game came on, around 3:30 in the afternoon. That part, I don’t want to talk any more about.. It was a pretty messy game, with a pretty undesirable ending. We’ll get ’em next time.

Sunday morning we woke up early and took the pups to the park so they could stretch their legs and play. The weather is finally getting cooler here in Florida and Sunday was b-e-a-utiful. I dropped by my mom’s house & ended up washing my car while the pups sunbathed, so we’ve already covered relaxing, playing, and productivity all by 11 a.m.

After the car was shining, I headed back home. The boy & I speed cleaned the house and I lit the smell goods while we attacked the laundry. My house is always filled with the best aromas – I have 2 tart burners (one in the living room and one in our bedroom) and buy wax tarts [in large quantities] from Southern Belle Scents to burn. Our house was bursting with scents of vanilla, cinnamon and cloves – perfect for fall! [I burn these during summer too because they’re intoxicating!]

After I put dinner on the table, it was time to get ready for ANOTHER concert. Completely opposite end of the spectrum, I met up with a couple of my favorite girl friends & we hit the best country bar in town for Eli Young Band.

Mavericks is filled with chandeliers like this one, it’s fantastic.

Love these ladies

 

While I woke up a little tired this morning [let’s face it, I always wake up tired EVERY morning], my soul feels refreshed and my heart feels light & even though it’s Monday, after a cup of coffee I was ready to get to it. There’s something to be said for live music and for spending time doing things that make you happy, just because.

Hope you all had just as wonderful of a weekend & here’s to a wonderful week!

Witty replies welcome:

