2 years and counting!

Happy Wednesday everyone!

It’s been a while since I’ve had a real chance to post anything, it’s been so busy! I feel like such a slacker, but busyness comes with this season I suppose. But for now, let’s catch up!

My days have been filled with events; both work and personal. One of my very good friends got married recently and I was lucky enough to be a bridesmaid in the wedding! It was a beautiful experience and I can’t wait for the photos to come back. Besides events, I’ve been busy working (earning a living), stuffing my face with all things Thanksgiving (turkey, starches, and sooo many sweets!), & actually quite a few DIY projects. I will be showing some of that soon.. but for today – I would like to feature a special project because today is my 2 year anniversary with my man!

He makes me crazy and I think I give him my fair share of crazy too but overall, I think I really do appreciate the challenge and love the balance in our personalities. Sometimes I think it’d be easier if we were more alike, we certainly would be able to come to a happy medium on decisions a bit easier.. but it might also be a bit more boring and I probably wouldn’t learn as much. This is what I have been working on and what I left on the counter last night for him to find this morning when he was getting ready for work.

My anniversary gift to him

Since we have completely opposite schedules (he’s driving home as I’m driving to work), and it is the middle of the work week, we’ll actually spend time together and celebrate this weekend sometime. But for today, just a little something to show the love. We’re both lovers of Reese’s and I am slightly obsessed with message boards. I’ve got one on my desk with a running to-do list, one on my project table with craft ideas, one hanging in our office to write our schedules, one in the kitchen with dinner ideas.. I’ve seen this idea all over Pinterest and decided that now was finally a good time for us to have one also.

I picked up a delightfully simple dark frame with a bit of a sheen to it and set out in search of burlap. I ended up buying a square of this beige-offwhite colored fabric instead because the line at the fabric counter was not something I felt like tackling at the time. I made these adorable little flowers (they turned out exactly how I envisioned, so I’ll save the burlap for another venture) and added them to the frame with hot glue. I like the look of older looking notebook paper inside the frame – and my padfolio that I carry with me is more of a yellow color. I positioned the paper so that the line for the margin showed, used a dry erase marker and left a love note front and center on the counter for him to find.

Are you loving these little flowers as much as I am? They’re super easy to make and add a bit of flare.

D.I.Y. Fabric Flower Tutorial

Make your own fabric flowers. Pick your favorite fabric and follow this easy picture instruction grid. Pin or hot glue and voila!

1. Cut your fabric about an inch and a half wide. 2. Fold the fabric so that its the width that you want showing on your flower. I folded mine twice, and after struggling with it – I think ironing a crease in the fabric as you fold may make the process a bit easier. 3. Roll. Roll that fabric all the way down to the very end. I made a couple different sizes. The larger flowers of mine rolled all the way to the end, the smaller ones – I cut the length of the fabric in half and followed the same steps. 4. I secured my flowers with pins that you would use to hold fabric together when you’re sewing. You can pin and then hot glue to hold the shape, or pick pretty pins and you may like the look with the pin showing. I chose to use all of the pearl white pins and just positioned them so that the actual needle part is hidden. When I got 2 inches from the end of the fabric, I started to twist while wrapping for a textured aesthetic but that’s optional.

Fabric flowers, secured with sewing pins.

I’m so happy with how the flowers turned out and now we have a place to write love notes every day. It’s nice to do that, anniversary or not. 🙂

Witty replies welcome:

