Project Life: Week 1

A few weeks ago, I posted a photo of my Project Life kit for Wordless Wednesday. I’ve been following Elise Cripe’s blog for some time now and love her posts about her experience with Project Life. I also follow A Beautiful Mess dutifully and have come to realize that there is something totally beautiful about documenting your every day life. It’s not all glamorous and I’m certainly not a movie star, but by taking a moment to capture the moments that we’re taking part in, it makes me appreciate my every day and helps me see things that I wouldn’t otherwise, that might just fall under the routine and be lost when I lay down to go to sleep.

So, as part of my 2013 goals (full list coming soon!) I have decided to take part in a challenge of documenting our every day life by means of Project Life. You can order a kit on Amazon and choose your color preferences and different nifty little page protectors that feature different size inserts to change the layout from week to week. I took a fairly long time to pick the layouts that I wanted and so I didn’t physically have them in hand to lay out week 1, but thanks to a new upgrade to Amazon Prime (thanks mom!) – a plethora of page inserts will be arriving on my door step tomorrow, in time for this week’s recap.

Here’s a peek into Week 1:

FxCam_1357494186744 FxCam_1357494230459These were some of the tools I was working with. Since I didn’t have the page protectors with insert templates, I laid out my items and photos on paper and put them into full page inserts.

FxCam_1357494640220This did require a bit more thinking and planning than this project usually requires, because part of the beauty of Project Life is that there is no scrapbooking, there is no glue, no paper scraps, etc. It wasn’t too in-depth, but for those of you who aren’t huge fans of scrapbooking – this project is definitely a bit different with all the great perks of recording memories in scrapbooks.

FxCam_1357497140726 FxCam_1357497203152I’ve been paying a little extra attention lately when I’m out, anywhere really. I picked up this lovely stamp, some labels, and found a few other items for labeling when I was cleaning out a closet this past weekend. I also put little momentos from the week in a safe place so that I could add them as well. The wrist band is from the bar we rang in the new year, a handwritten card that came in the mail from an old friend, and snapshots of the different activities we took part in this week with a little journaling. I gotta say I feel like I accomplished more in this week just by taking photos of everything we did, and I think it might drive me to do more in times when I’m feeling lazier so that I have something to put in my weekly recap. It can only be good. 🙂

Tablet Blog signature

 

Witty replies welcome:

