DIY Chalkboard mug

One of my other DIY Christmas inspirations this year was to take cute coffee mugs and take them up a notch & make them customizable. You’ve seen the idea with wine glasses all over Pinterest most likely and this idea lets guests write their name on their glass so that there’s less confusion when drinks are left unattended. It’s not quite the same reasoning with a coffee mug, chances are you’re going to either be the only one drinking coffee or there aren’t so many that you can’t remember where you placed yours. Nevertheless, the customization option is FUN. 🙂

2012-12-04 12.36.22I used the chalkboard paint that comes in a bottle and dipped my brush into it and worked in layers. I obviously taped off the area that I didn’t want to go past, but I think if I replicated this project in the future – I would maybe tape off both the top and the bottom to have a chalkboard stripe going around the mug.

After 3 coats had dried, I peeled back the painters tape and wrote the gift recipient’s name with chalk and added a couple pieces of chalk with ribbon inside of the mug. I will say the tape didn’t peel off quite as clean as I would’ve liked and could probably have done with a layer of some type of glossing agent to keep it from pulling up the chalkboard paint. It’s not perfect but it was a fun project and overall turned out pretty well for my gifts.

2012-12-04 12.55.26Even if it’s not perfect.. a DIY craft gift is way more personal 🙂

Tablet Blog signature

 

 

Witty replies welcome:

