Weekend things.

Happy weekend everyone!

I’ve mentioned how I’ve been on a redecorating and cleaning kick the last few weeks. My weekends have been filled with cleaning out closets, cleaning out and reorganizing cabinets, working on DIY art projects and PLANT SHOPPING. Some of my favorite blogs including A Beautiful Mess and Elise Blaha Cripe as well as Smile and Wave have all posted recently about adding plants to their house on their blogs as well as on their Instagram feeds. I guess I just never thought much about adding plants to the house. Maybe it’s the springtime vibe in the air to start fresh and to add some vibrancy – but I’m hooked and borderline obsessed.

I knew I wanted fresh flowers in the house. I’ve been on the hunt for unique vases, jars, and pitchers whenever I’m out – at the flea market, at Target, at garage sales, at World Market, at the dollar store, you name it. Over the course of a couple of weeks, I picked up about 7 different containers and  I started making a weekly trip to my neighborhood Publix to add some pretty details around the house. I think fresh flowers is the gateway phase.

Since then, over the last 3 weeks or so – I have been visiting my local Lowes. I started with a few 98 cent plants but since I don’t have anywhere to plant them (as we’re in an apartment), they aren’t doing so well. I’ve got 2 left and I’m not sure they’re going to make it. BUT – I have found that INDOOR plants are much more my thing. I picked up a couple of indoor plants that need much less maintenance and I picked up more than a few succulents.

I. love. succulents.
favorite succulents carnationscoffee tablesunflowers house plantsingle succulent snake plant hanging plant succulents in bedroom

Plants just add a vibrancy that’s been lacking in our house. Even without adding any other details, it suddenly feels so much more like home.

Go buy a succulent or 2 (or 3!), it’ll make you happy. I promise.

Witty replies welcome:

