Reuse, Reduce, Renew.

I’m adding lots of details to our home lately. It’s a slow process but the results are thrilling.

I’m transitioning wild, all-genre type decor details into a neutral palette made up of wood, cream & whites, dark brown, and grays in our living room. I’ve decided to add in color through accessories and to focus on a turquoise and yellow theme, where possible.

I’ve also been cleaning out drawers/closets/side tables. I’ve found some things I didn’t realize I’d stashed.

I assume I planned to do something later with these two simple, black frames that I threw in a drawer who knows how long ago. But they just now resurfaced 10 months later.

before photo frameThis was last weekend. I set this on my coffee table because I just felt like I could find a purpose for it in the near future.

I came across train and bus ticket stubs from Amsterdam, my ticket to the Louvre and Eiffel tower, a 1 pound note.. lots of little mementos from Europe that weren’t totally touristy. They were bits & pieces of our trip.

I had meant to do something with those stubs and tickets when we came home from our trip, in January of 2012. A year and a half later, I finally did.

after photo frameAfter a few coats of a turquoise blue spray paint and a few moments determining placement, my London tube map now sits in the living room as one of my more personal accessories popping with color.

Upcycling from my own home might be my new favorite thing!

2 comments on “Reuse, Reduce, Renew.

  1. craftymadre says:

    I love maps! This is so sweet.

Witty replies welcome:

