Nobody likes change..at first.

I’ve had this nervous, anxious feeling in my gut for a while now. We are currently living in a garden-style apartment, that doesn’t really feel like apartment living. Our 2 bedroom, 2 bath offers us lots of space (more than we need really, I’m noticing we’re starting to accrue random things), a great kitchen that was a serious step up from our last starter apartment, a screened porch & an extra good-sized large bedroom that works as our office/creative space.

The curb appeal of our community is definitely lacking and was in need of serious overhaul up until recently when a larger company came in and bought out the old company. When I heard how much the renovations were going to cost, I hoped [but I knew better] that our rent would not go up significantly and that we would be able to renew our lease for another 12 or 15 months and thus continue on our financial plan to eliminate all debt/extras possible this year (credit cards, car payments, cable). The plan is then to sock a large amount into savings each month afterwards for the next year.

But I just knew better.

So now I find myself in limbo because while I am grateful we know 3 months before we can move that we need to, I can’t really start looking yet. We have started to incorporate extra work/efforts to start putting aside cash for moving expenses/time off work/deposits, etc. in September though. So while I browse houses on the market and start thinking about what areas we’ll explore in town and what numbers we want to try and stick close to, I’m also starting to think about what I want to do differently.

1. A house.
I want a house. I don’t really care if it’s an older house with crazy bathroom tile. I want a house that feels more like a home, that we can settle in for 2 or 3 years and take a break from moving every year.

2. More natural light

natural light living room

This type of natural lighting. I never thought much about it before, but I need the space where I spend most time in to be open and bright if at all possible.

3. A yard.
My pups go crazy when we visit my parent’s house. The back yard is enormous and we let them off the leashes and they run laps around the yard.

4. New design challenges.
I’m pretty happy with our apartment now, design wise. The walls are filled without looking cluttered. I would like to do another project or two but now that we have to move.. I wonder if there’s much of a point now. Besides that 1 or 2 things I have in mind though, all of the walls are full and I can’t really do much else unless I start changing things out. So, I’m almost ready for a new space to work on anyway.

5.A real key.
We have these programmable, large/bulky keys to open our front door with. I get that it’s easier on the office to be able to program any key at any moment for instant access if need be, but it takes up a lot of room on my key ring and I can’t make a copy of it. It’s a bit inconvenient and I’m ready to go back to a good ol’ fashioned house key.

This is like anything, I suppose. Change comes for a reason. Usually once we can wrap our minds around it, we realize it was to transition to something better.

change-wordle

Happy Friday!

Witty replies welcome:

